菲利普·索莫佐(Phillip Somozo)認為自己是大自然的僕人。他致力於協助森林再生的自然過程,並生活在他本人幫助創造的600米類似微型森林的環境中。在這裡,他採摘可食用的葉子,花朵,水果和根,這些食物有助於提供日常飲食。他與樹木交談並餵養流浪貓。為了謀生,自然給他提供了很少的寫作和繪畫才能。 2006年,他榮幸地走遍了世界各地,結識了人們,並參觀了博物館。宇宙進化是他的宗教信仰。

菲利普·索莫佐(Phillip Somozo)為《太陽之星》和其他出版物撰稿,也是ARISE的顧問,該組織構想一個由社會和發展企業家組成的有能力的社會,其倡議旨在消除貧困和創造創新的可持續發展方式

“索莫佐是一位偉大而富魅力的作家”詹姆斯·鮑德溫·科恩(James Baldwin Cohen)

書評

書名:Terrance Lindall回顧展

評論者:Phillip Somozo

如果您不是有遠見的藝術家,哲學家或魔鬼,那麼Terrance Lindall回顧展是一本很難理解的書。

顧名思義,這是一個準自傳體描寫的人物,該人物被譽為當代世界上最偉大的英國史詩詩《約翰·彌爾頓》的天堂插圖畫家。聽起來無害,但卻顛覆了現代人文主義。這是一本針對沒有傻瓜的人的書。

我不想寫這本書的評論。但是閱讀一頁導致我進入另一頁,直到我讀完全部253頁為止。進步的原因是作者的多功能性,因為真正多才多藝的人很少見,並且對我的智力很感興趣。

到了新千年之交,科學研究將通用性的參數推後了一步,因為他們一致認為人類不僅擁有兩種智能-智商和情商-而且擁有十幾種智能。有人說是兩打。實際上,如果一個人能夠完全發揮這些潛能,他/他就可以成為超人甚至神靈(考慮路西法)!

Terrance Lindall(截至2018年)已有74歲,在他的一生中證明了人類擁有的多種智能。對Lindall Retro內容的細讀將顯示出他一生的行為方式-士兵,喪葬人員,財務經理,藝術品和古董收藏家和經銷商,漫畫插圖畫家,作家,高級時裝模特,策展人,博物館創始人,最大的超現實事件組織者……還有誰知道呢。我認為他在撰寫回顧展時不誠實,無私。

所有上述生命事件,無論是引人注目的還是公開的,都只是燒毀了他的一種激情的附屬物:插圖《失樂園》。因此,我的審查方法是將我認為對失樂園有重要意義的觀點聯繫起來,提出一個因林德爾敘述文本的經濟性而被掩蓋的故事,但其線索和含義暗示了這一點。由於我生活在地球的另一端,因此可以通過互聯網獲得的內容僅是《林德爾回顧展》的電子版。為了參考的準確性,我只能希望它的分頁與硬拷貝的分頁相同。

聰明的人不會像花園裡的亞當和夏娃那樣天真無邪。首先,他知道自己想要的生活,然後,精明地為實現自己的生活而行動。由於挑戰是社會正常的形而上學的固定,因此機敏變得必要,因為重力作用於大自然。

說到情報,地球上70億人口中的百分之九十九個別地或集體地在某個時候或某些時候不再獲得進步的思想啟蒙,而轉變為該機構的p。他們做他們被告知要做的事而沒有疑問和思考。更糟糕的是,它們充當了剝削性社會結構和製度的堅果和鉚釘。知識也許是伊甸園的“禁忌之樹”的產物,但認知失調(由Earon Davis創造)是其消化不良症狀。

比許多成功人士更大的程度上不是Lindall。如果MRI能夠檢查自己心靈的角落和角落,而在執行職業生涯時享受的樂趣背後,那是他的大腦,鼓起,沉迷,凝視著失樂園(PL),這是一種指向性,表示泰倫斯·林道爾(Terrance Lindall)是約翰·彌爾頓(John Milton)選擇了一種以適合後現代時期的清晰照明來照亮PL。為此,人文主義的多用途顛覆者無法逃脫魔鬼,以使他們互惠互利。

從阿夫頓荒野到明尼阿波利斯

像第一個人亞當一樣,林德爾童年時在明尼蘇達州阿夫頓的野生天堂般的沼澤中探索並嬉戲,他總是在尋找奇特的冒險。像夏天一樣,少年時代來了又去了。當他長大並在明尼阿波利斯上高中和大學時,與荒野的分離“毀了”他。

在大學裡,他經歷了一種奇怪的,儘管令人愉悅的感覺,並帶有一種看不見的“有力量的存在”,如果他屈服,就會以“巨大的力量”吸引他。這些感覺以痛苦和“停電”結束。因為他抵抗了這種感覺,所以它消失了。他在回顧中再也沒有提到停電。

取而代之的是,他隨後被一位美麗的年輕女畫家迷住了(第64頁)。從字面上講,開車把她帶到鎮上來還不足以使Lindall對這個女人的吸引力感到滿足。我想這個女人太聰明了,以至於當她所有的朋友都在看著靈車的任何地方時,都無法感動自己。

儘管如此,這位女畫家竟然是林德爾的夏娃。很快,他就跟著她到了永不眠的城市:紐約。在那兒,命運將林德爾(Lindall)引向了一個聖殿,在那裡,他的鮮為人知的畫作之一的麥當娜怪物(Madonna of Monsters)正等待著他的畫布和顏料調色板上的顯現。

紐約,林德爾和名望

怪物聖母瑪利亞(Madonna of Monsters)充滿了人文主義後代的可怕變態。她的另一隻手輕輕地撫摸著Guile and Lies的毒蛇(象徵宗教),充滿愛意地按下了Hunger的肩膀,當他伸向臀部時,他的臉上表達了滿足感。圖片在劇院佈置好了,很可能是怪物的全家福。在場的其他家庭成員包括知識,無知,恐懼,資本主義,科學和醫學等等,這些都令人恐懼和恐懼。它們被上面太陽象徵的上帝所忽視,而魔鬼的僕從徘徊(第184-197頁)。

Lindall的標題註明“麥當娜是希望”,這是一種虛假的說法,因為她被描述為徒勞無功,這表明人們由於對更好的生活條件和/或永生的希望而受到宗教,政府和大企業的剝削。為了實現林德爾對希望的徒勞的主張,聯合國實現了其目標,將主題從經濟進步轉變為純粹的可持續性。

Lindall在畫布上引人入勝的怪物麥當娜繪畫是一個里程碑,充分說明了他從明尼蘇達州到紐約的心理演變。他自己從童年天堂的墮落為他的生活打開了一個需要填補的空白空間。毫無疑問,他一定在明尼蘇達州的高中和大學裡在學術上以及其他方面遇到了約翰·彌爾頓和“失樂園”。

自遠古以來人們普遍認為,當活著的人談論死者時,死者的鬼魂會被喚醒。這是一個問題,一個偉大的人物應該長久地獲得永生嗎?關於精神作為堅不可摧的能量,還有更多的東西要理解。我敢說在米索塔(Minessota)中,米爾頓(Milton)的鬼魂或精神試圖擁有林德爾(Lindall),這給了他非常主觀的愉悅感,並承諾如果他屈服,他將擁有強大的力量。

Lindall對奇怪感覺的抵制導致了前面提到的停電,可能迫使Milton的幽靈做出其他安排以達到目的。從那時起,林德爾(Lindall)的成功之路就被清除了。如果不是米爾頓,那一定是魔鬼,誘使林德爾。要么,或者甚至兩者兼而有之。

在紐約,他的手,刷子和調色板表現出了非凡的靈活性,並以此在畫布上表現出非典型的視覺效果。儘管他沒有詳細介紹他的正規藝術訓練,但很明顯,他的繪畫作品受到了Hieronymus Bosch的影響。但是林德爾冒險冒險將幽默與恐怖相提並論,反之亦然,或者他以獨特,現在可以識別的超現實主義風格將它們很好地融合在一起。

他幽默幽默,滑稽可笑,他在紐約當代藝術界引起轟動,並受到屢獲殊榮的恐怖小說和未來派作家的追捧(《重金屬雜誌》的複印件落到了我的手,即使我在一個熱帶的東南亞鄉村居住,他也來自紐約70年代中期至80年代初)。離開童年時代的曠野所造成的破壞如今已由另一種形式的興奮代替。

在回顧展上,令我感到驚訝的是,評論家們並沒有把Lindall的藝術風格描述為幽默。在一些版本中,諸如有遠見,幻想,敘事和超現實主義的描述都是正確的。但是,做出定義的人都沒有看到幽默方面(第6頁和第123頁)。為此,他們錯過了一個非常重要的解釋要素。

佈滿畫布的醜陋的變態圖像(《紐約藝術世界》雜誌將其描述為DNA瘋搶了)肯定是可怕的。但是,通過觀察引發嘔吐和恐懼的場景,就可以看出幽默在藝術家的血管中流淌。對我而言,這對於解釋非常重要,我將在後面詳細闡述。

他獲得的名望使他能夠購買豪華轎車(奔馳)和房地產(第86頁),這可能就是他討厭抵押貸款的原因。如果我的猜測是正確的,則可以將其與他的社會政治經濟幻滅聯繫在一起(第110-136頁及以上)。可以理解,他對失樂園的學術教育達到了自我反省和對話的水平。

失樂園最重要的當代插畫家

我們通過學習一個人的行為,說話和思考(繪畫或寫作)來認識他。

Lindall從Hunter College獲得哲學和英語方面的優等生,與未成年人的心理學和身體人類學相稱,這證明了他並不是個人拒絕社會整合,而是從內部貶低社會整合。他精明地利用了自己建立的社會資格,暢所欲言,即使它冒犯了其他人,大多數情況下,這些人是我先前所稱的壓迫性社會結構的木偶,堅果和鉚釘(第51-52頁,很少見)許多爭議)。

迄今為止,他已經組織了有史以來最大規模的超現實活動(《勇敢的命運》和彌爾頓誕辰400週年慶典,第76和29頁),迄今為止,他作為當代世界上最重要的插畫家“失落的天堂”(第5和30頁)獲得的認可。事實證明,賦予他的強大力量就在他手中。

通過撰寫論文《後藝術世界》(第114-116頁),他冒著成為每個人的敵人的危險,並且像Hasidic教授Kapitalisimo一樣被槍殺(第118-119頁)。 Lindall承認他並不是那麼的先鋒派。在藝術媒介和技術上是真實的,但在思想上他是先鋒派。當他公開稱自己為詮釋藝術家時(第123頁),他消滅了可能的刺客(如果有的話)。他口頭上否定了後現代文化相對主義的自相矛盾,絕對的,西方的價值,這使他在不失去紐約及以後當代藝術史上的精英地位的情況下獲救。

他不只是一個藝術家,而且是一個哲學家。一個對藝術和哲學已經消亡的壞消息的有遠見的預兆,藝術和哲學在歷史上是文明崩潰的先兆。他的論點是很多人無法接受的,而且是有充分根據的。

社會評論家埃倫·戴維斯(Earon Davis)說,認知失調使一個人或一群人從一個系統中永久受益,即使他們從該系統中獲利,即使他們違反了法律或違反了道德標準。這就是當今世界正在發生的事情。

Lindall在他的作品中普遍使用眼睛圖像,這表達了他超越和計算觀察客觀現實的傾向。他的哲學浪漫主義與崇高的敘事性的《失落的天堂》(Paradise Lost)增強了他的觀察力,並加深了社會對PL的理解。安靜地,這是對他唯一重要的事情。

他的所有其他社會承諾都是屈從的,隨後與“失樂園”相吻合。他的一些雇主對此感到不滿並表示不滿。但是他們怎麼能使他擺脫一生的激情呢?不知不覺中,他們與一個藝術家哲學家巨人打交道,這個巨人誕生於這個歷史時期,以履行使命。

人類問題的底線是貪婪(金錢,權力,名望),這是明智者的小困境。人是按照上帝的形像被創造的,但是卻被路西法的頑強性所污染。因為這是人類三千年來的經營模式,所以成為了一個笑話。 Blob(第132頁)還活著,在全球範圍內自我複制,吞噬一切,使所有人受害。

Lindall是一個認真對待這種情況的人,但是明智地採取了從激怒到幽默的創造性彎路,以免一個人的情感生活遭受的痛苦最大,而您卻錯過了行星騎行的樂趣。他通過對待女友參加靈異的喜樂來做一件非常正確的事情。據說,要從不好的討價還價中獲得最大收益。一些裂縫選擇進行9/11或大規模射擊。

他的人生使命是推翻人文主義嗎?不是這樣他對古典藝術和文學的熱愛代表著高品質和高水準。有禪宗說:“我們不要把嬰兒和洗澡水一起扔掉。”教育,個人成長,社會發展與歷史背景息息相關。過去有一種智慧,那就是如果保存下來,可以防止人文主義的蝎子ing死。這種智慧貫穿於整個歷史領域,並通過各種媒介表達自己,這些媒介通過不斷發展的思想線相互聯繫,形成了一個不斷發展和復雜的生態系統。

Bienvenido BonesBañez和Felix Culpa

現代歷史是文明的持續衰落,它可能因各個部分的瓦解,分離,功能失調和毀滅而崩潰。它曾經發生過。儘管社會操作系統得到了發展,但它再次發生。警告在政治喧囂中淹沒。

所以,vadis,hom s。智者?在他對《失落的天堂》的詮釋學研究的高峰期,並通過藝術和哲學論證中止了(後)現代人本主義,這個問題一直困擾著林德爾。對魔鬼的迷戀感激至極。這可能是Lindall地獄般的頭腦中最可怕的產物嗎?

詮釋主義超現實主義藝術家比安妮維多·博內斯·貝涅斯(Bienvenido BonesBañez)的說法“撒但為世界增色”,這無意中激起了林德爾的感恩之情。 Lindall在一次公開演講中承認受到Bones的聲明的啟發。

在伊甸園裡,沒有互聯網,沒有社交媒體,沒有手機。一切都井井有條,和諧相處。人口只有兩個,一個是男性,另一個是女性。每天,他們彼此有知地微笑,並繼續他們的幸福純真。他們只吃水果。沒有燒烤,也沒有麥當勞。

他們步行裸體行走,並與動植物對話。沒有智力對話。你和我不在那兒,因為沒有機會。在秋天之前,我們最初的父親亞當和母親夏娃對性一無所知。您可以在伊甸園之類的地方度過永恆嗎?如果您甚至不能在這個世界上成為素食主義者,請回答“是”,不要虛偽。

如果您誠實地回答“否”,那麼我不想在伊甸園裡度過永恆,因為我習慣了它並且肯定會錯過所有事情,那麼,您也應該感謝撒旦。骨頭的發音蘊含著撒旦為世界增色的含義!正是由於魔鬼的誘惑,第一個男人和女人才擺脫了上帝的完美恩典,落入了這個對立的世界:愛與恨,快樂與痛苦,對與錯,成名與恥辱,和平與戰爭。

Lindall闡述了夏娃的淪陷是人本主義的誕生。現在,他們自己在世界上創造意義,在這個世界上,一種生活就是另一種生活的食物。

撒旦的奇特恩惠

惡魔在世界各地投擲的業力使人聯想到不得不在獅子窩裡生存的現實,可以這麼說(先知丹尼爾做了字面意思)。有趣的是,人類在克服挑戰方面取得了成功,並獲得了靈感,並精通藝術和文字藝術,創作了精美的人物和圖畫,並撰寫了與周圍宇宙有關的人生故事。人的跌倒使他有能力追求更好的東西。從哲學的角度來看,人是魔鬼特有的恩惠的受益者,林克斯(Felix culpa)(幸運的倒下)解釋道。

當然,撒但在上帝創造的戲劇中扮演著重要的角色,沒有它,就不會實現目的,因為如果沒有猶大的背叛,基督就不會被釘死和復活。對人的諷刺是,他屈服並享受了撒但的誘惑,但使魔鬼成為所有生物中最醜陋,最可怕和最邪惡的。 Lindall將其描繪成人文主義工作中的怪物,以及陷入可怕但幽默的場景中的人,這是有道理的。

此外,林德爾宣稱,如果基督徒必須慶祝聖誕節,他們對救主的感謝表達應包括撒但。對於平庸的頭腦來說,這是很難消化的,這種頭腦最初是從異教徒那裡繼承下來的一種文化習俗而被灌輸了數千年。

撒但總是被教會投射為一個被敬畏和鄙視的人。因此,用二進制思維對人類進行編程。選擇是上帝還是魔鬼,要么是/或者是。隨著時間的流逝,二元選擇會轉變為我的信仰系統還是您的信仰系統?可以理解,人類是魔鬼的罪魁禍首,否則,社會和世界就不會陷入如此混亂的境地。然而,儘管所有的技術和系統都在發展,人類的潛意識卻在黑暗時代停滯不前。

讚賞Lindall對Satan特有的恩典的感激之情是,那些懂得理解的人將能夠超越二進製程序的思想,並加深對上帝無所不在的愛的順序的理解:Ordo Amoris。如果您對猶大充滿同情心,這是一個巨大的進步,因為他被賦予執行一項艱鉅任務的任務,並且更深入地了解了魔鬼的角色。愛你的敵人,這是一種基督教的教義,就像被吞噬一樣(食石者,第152頁)。一旦做到這一點,恐懼就消失了。

Lindall熱愛經典,但對後現代時期的人文主義感到沮喪。儘管他承認後現代主義對公然藝術商品化的反應是有效的,但他拒絕以絕對價值對待文化相對論。就矛盾而言,就是這樣。相反,他屈服於藝術中的“精英主義者”-用自己的話說,極少數具有“判斷力以了解人類成就中值得的東西”的人。

儘管林道爾(Lindall)關於人道主義的所有顛覆性聲明,但他仍然對人類抱有信念,他說,從藝術的廢墟中將會出現一個新的更大的男人(和女人)。但是在此之前,一兩個事件還沒有發生。考慮到所有因素,林德爾哲學論證的終點是他打開的門,但還沒有完全進入。門口掛著一個標語,上面寫著Ordo Amoris。

=結束=

• w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-flickr

Phillip Somozo considers himself a servant of Mother Nature. He is engaged in assisting natural processes of forest regeneration and lives in a 600-meter micro forest-like environment he, himself, helped create. Here, he plucks edible leaves, flowers, fruits, and roots that help provide for his daily fare. He talks to the trees and feeds stray cats. For a living, Nature provided him with little talents for writing and painting. In 2006 he was privileged to go half-way across the globe, meet people, and visit museums. Cosmic evolution is his religion.

Phillip Somozo writes for the Sunstar and other publictions and is a consultant for ARISE, which  envisions an empowered society of social and development entrepreneurs whose initiatives are geared towards eradicating poverty and creation of innovative ways for sustainable development

"Somozo is a magnificent and engaging writer" James Baldwin Cohen

 

Book Review

 

 

 

 

Book Title:  The Terrance Lindall Retrospective

Reviewed by:     Phillip Somozo        

 

The Terrance Lindall Retrospective is a difficult book to appreciate if you are not a visionary artist, a philosopher, or a fiend.

As its title suggests, it is a quasi-autobiographical account of a man known as the contemporary world’s foremost illustrator of the greatest English epic poem, Paradise Lost by John Milton. Harmless as it sounds, it subverts modern-day Humanism. This is a book for people that are nobody’s fool.

I did not want to write a review of the book. But reading one page led me to another, and another, until I finished all 253 pages.  The reason for the progression is the author’s versatility because truly versatile people are rare and intriguing to my intellect.

 

By the turn of the new millennium, scientific studies pushed back the parameters of versatility as they agree that man not only has two intelligences—IQ and EQ—but a dozen. Some say it is two dozen. In effect, should a person be able to develop these potentialities altogether, s/he could become superhuman, even godlike (consider Lucifer)!

 

Terrance Lindall, already 74 years of age as of this writing (2018), has demonstrated in his life the multiplicity of intelligences a human possesses. A perusal of the Lindall Retro’s contents will show how diverse he has been in his life’s conduct—a soldier, mortuary personnel, financial manager, art and antiques collector and dealer, comic book illustrator, writer, high-fashion model, curator, museum founder, biggest surreal events organizer... and who knows what else. I do not think he was dishonest and self-serving in writing the retrospective.

 

All the above-mentioned life episodes, inconspicuously or openly, were mere tributaries to the one passion that burned his being: illustrating Paradise Lost. Thus, my review method was to connect points I believe to be significant to Paradise Lost, to come up with a story veiled by Lindall’s economy of narrative text but hinted at by clues and implications. Since I live on the other side of the globe, what is available to me, through internet, is only the e-copy of The Lindall Retrospective. For accuracy of references, I can only hope its paging is the same as that of the hard copy.

 

An intelligent person is not innocent like Adam and Eve in the Garden. Firstly, he knows what he wants in life, then, acts shrewdly to attain it. Shrewdness becomes necessary due to challenges that are normal metaphysical fixtures of society, as it is with gravity over nature.

Speaking of intelligence, ninety-nine percent of the Earth’s seven billion human population, individually and collectively, at some point or another, cease to attain progressive intellectual enlightenment but convert into puppets of the Establishment. They do what they are told to do without question and thinking. Worse, they serve as nuts and rivets of exploitative societal structures and institutions. Knowledge may be the fruit of Eden’s Forbidden Tree but cognitive dissonance (coined by Earon Davis) is its indigestive symptom.

Not Lindall, to a greater degree than many successful people. If MRI can examine the nooks and corners of his psyche, behind the enjoyment he savors while performing diverse tasks in his career, is his mind’s Eye, bulging, enraptured, staring at Paradise Lost (PL)—a one-pointedness signifying Terrance Lindall is John Milton’s chosen one to illuminate PL with lucidity appropriate for the postmodern period. For this, Humanism’s versatile subversive had no way of escaping the devil, to their mutual benefit and pleasure.

 

From Afton Wilderness to Minneapolis

Like the first man Adam, Lindall explored and frolicked, in the wild paradisiacal swamp during his childhood in Afton, Minnesota, always searching for strange adventure. Like summer, boyhood came and went. As he grew up and attended high school and college in Minneapolis, separation from this wilderness “devastated” him.

 

In college, he experienced strange, albeit pleasurable, sensations with unseen presence of a “powerful being” seducing him with “great power” if he yields. These sensations ended with pain and “blackouts”. Because he resisted the sensations, it vanished. He never mentioned the blackouts again in his retrospection.

 

Instead, he was enamored next by a beautiful young lady artist (p. 64). Driving her around town in a hearse, literally, was not enough to gratify Lindall’s attraction for the woman. I guess the woman is too smart to allow herself to be touched when all her friends were watching wherever the hearse goes.

 

Never the less, the lady artist turns out to be Lindall’s Eve. In no time, he followed her to the city that never sleeps: New York.  There, Fate ushered Lindall to a sanctum in his psyche where the Madonna of Monsters—one of his lesser known paintings—was waiting manifestation through his canvas and paint palette.  

 

New York, Lindall, and Fame

The Madonna of Monsters is crowded by the ghastly perversions that Humanism’s progeny had become. Gently stroking the Serpent of Guile and Lies (symbolizing Religion) her other hand lovingly presses the shoulder of Hunger whose face expresses satisfaction as he reaches up for her hip. The picture is theatrically arranged and could well be a monsters family portrait. Other family members present are Knowledge, Ignorance, Fear, Capitalism, Science, and Medicine, among others—all ghastly and dreadful. They were overlooked by God symbolized by the Sun above, while the devil’s minions hover over (p. 184-197).

 

Lindall’s caption states the Madonna is Hope—a false one as she is described as futile, suggesting it is because of the hope for better life conditions and/or eternal life that people get exploited by religion, government, and big business. Consistent to Lindall’s claim of hope’s futility, the United Nations, for its goals, shifts theme from economic progress to mere sustainability. 

 

Lindall’s lurid rendition of the Madonna of Monsters on canvas is a milestone that speaks much of his psychological evolution from Minnesota to New York. His own fall from childhood paradise has opened an empty space in his life that needed to be filled. No doubt he must have encountered John Milton and Paradise Lost, academically and more, in high school and college in Minnesota.

 

It is common belief since time immemorial that a dead man’s ghost is awakened when the living talk about the departed. Is it a question how great personalities long gone supposedly attain immortality? There is more to understand about spirit as indestructible energy. I dare say it was Milton’s ghost or spirit that in Minessota attempted to possess Lindall, giving him very subjective pleasurable sensations and promising him great power should he yield.

 

Lindall’s resistance to the strange sensations resulted to the earlier-mentioned blackouts, probably forcing Milton’s ghost to make other arrangements to achieve intention. Since then Lindall’s path to success cleared. If it was not Milton, it must had been the devil, itself, tempting Lindall. Either or, even both.

 

In New York, he gained dexterity over his hands, the brush, and the color palette with which he manifested atypical visions on canvas. Although he did not elaborate on his formal art training, it is obvious his painting compositions are influenced by Hieronymus Bosch. But Lindall ventured further by twisting humor with horror, and vise-versa, or he blended them so well for his unique, now recognizable, marque of surrealism.

Horrifyingly humorous, comically bizarre, he became a sensation in NY’s contemporary art scene and sought after by award-winning horror and futuristic writers (copies of Heavy Metal Magazine reached my hands even as I lived a young recluse in a tropical Southeast Asian countryside from the mid-70s to early 80s). The devastation caused by leaving the wilderness of his boyhood is now being replaced by another form of excitement.

In the retrospective, I am surprised, Lindall’s artstyle was not described by critics as humorous. Descriptions such as visionary, fantasy, narrative, and surrealist in several versions were correct. But none of those who made the definitions saw the humor aspect (p. 6 and 123). For that they missed a very important interpretive element. 

 

The ugly perverted images (described by the New York Art World Magazine as DNA gone berserk) populating his canvases certainly are ghastly. But seeing through the vomit-inducing and fear-inspiring scenarios, one can discern humor flowing through the artist’s vein. That to me is highly significant to interpretation as I shall later elaborate.

 

The fame he gained allowed him to purchase luxury cars (Mercedes Benz) and real estates (p. 86), could be factor why he abhorred mortgage. If my speculation is true, one can tie it up with his socio-political-economic disillusionment (p. 110-136 and all over). Understandably, his academic education of Paradise Lost levelled up to involve self-reflection and dialog. 

 

Paradise Lost Foremost Contemporary Illustrator

We get to know a person by learning about what he does, speaks, and thinks (paints or writes).

Lindall’s magna cum laude from Hunter College, on Philosophy and English with minors on Psychology and Physical Anthropology, is testament he did not personally reject social conformity but to demean it from within. Shrewdly he made use of the social qualifications he had built, speaking his mind freely even if it offended others, mostly, people in position I referred to earlier as establishment puppets and nuts and rivets for oppressive societal structures (p. 51-52 A Few of Many Controversies).

 

That he had organized history’s biggest-ever surreal events (Brave Destiny and Milton’s 400th Birth Anniversary Celebration, p. 76 and 29) and the recognition he gained as the contemporary world’s foremost illustrator of Paradise Lost (p. 5 and 30) are so far the veritable proofs the great power offered to him is now in his hands.

 

By writing the essay The Post-Art World (p. 114-116) he risks becoming everyone’s enemy and, like the Hasidic professor, Kapitalisimo, getting shot to death (p. 118-119). Lindall admits he is not so much avante-garde. In art medium and technique true, but in thought he is avante garde. When he openly described himself as hermeneutic artist (p. 123), he neutralized the would-be assassin (if there were any). The self-contradictory, absolute, Western value of postmodern cultural relativism he verbally denigrated saved him without losing his elitist niche in contemporary art history in New York, and beyond.

 

More than an artist he is a philosopher. A visionary harbinger of the bad news that art and philosophy are dead, which historically is precursor to civilization collapse. His arguments, unacceptable to many, are sound and well-grounded.

 

Cognitive dissonance, says social critic Earon Davis, makes a person or group of people perpetuate a system if they profit from it, even if they violate the law or go against ethical standards. It is what is happening now to the world at large.

 

Lindall’s ubiquitous employ of eye images in his compositions expresses his overriding and calculating propensity to observe objective reality. His philosophical romance with lofty metanarrative Paradise Lost heightened his observation and deepened interpretation of society vis-à-vis PL. Quietly it is the only thing that matters to him.

 

All his other social commitments are subservient and subsequently dovetailed to Paradise Lost. Some of his employers sensed and expressed irritation over it. But how could they divert him from a lifelong passion? Unknowingly they dealt with an artist-philosopher giant that was born at this period of history to fulfill a mission.

 

The bottomline of the human problem is greed—for money, power, fame—a petty predicament to the sensible. Man was created in God’s image but was contaminated by Lucifer’s avariciousness. Because it has been man’s operational mode for three thousand years it became a joke. The Blob (p. 132) is alive, self-replicating all over the globe, gobbling everything, victimizing everyone.

 

Lindall is one who takes this state-of-affairs seriously, but wisely takes a creative detour from exasperation to humor, lest one’s emotional existence suffers the most and you miss the joy of planetary ride. He did an exceptionally right thing by treating a girlfriend to a hearse joyride. Making the best out of a bad bargain, so it is said. Some cracks opted doing a 9/11 or mass shooting.  

 

Is his life mission to overthrow humanism? Not so. His love for the classics—art and literature—speaks of fine and high standard. There is a zen saying “We don’t throw the baby away with the bathwater.” Education, personal growth, societal development, subsist with historical context. There is wisdom from the past that if preserved can prevent Humanism’s scorpion from stinging itself to death. This wisdom runs through the gamut of history and expresses itself through various mediums—persons that are interconnected by an evolving line of thought, forming as it were a growing and complexifying ecosystem.

 

Bienvenido Bones Bañez and the Felix Culpa

Modern history is a continuing fall of civilization that could crash with various parts disintegrating, disconnected, dysfunctional, and annihilated. It had happened before. It is happening again despite the advancement of societal operating systems. Warnings are drowning in political din.  

So, quo vadis, homo s. sapiens? At the height of his hermeneutic examination of Paradise Lost and having aborted (post)modern humanism through art and philosophical arguments, this question lingered in Lindall’s mind. Fascination with the devil peaked with a feeling of gratitude. Could this be the most dreadful product of Lindall’s hell-illuminated mind?

 

Unintentionally, Lindall’s gratefulness was precipitated by a clue from fellow hermeneutic surrealist artist Bienvenido Bones Bañez’s statement that “Satan gives color to the world.”  In a public lecture Lindall admitted to have been inspired by Bones’s pronouncement.

In the Garden of Eden, there is no internet, no social media, no cellphones. Everything is in perfect order and harmony. Human population was only two—one male, the other female. Every day, they smiled knowingly at each other and continue on with their blissful innocence. They ate only fruits. No Barbeque nor McDonald’s.

 

They walked nude on foot and talked to the plants and animals. No intellectual conversations. You and I were not there because there was no chance. Before the Fall, our original father, Adam, and mother, Eve, did not know about sex. Can you spend eternity in such place as the Garden of Eden? If you can’t even be vegan in this world, don’t be hypocritical by answering Yes.

 

If you honestly answer NO, I don’t want to spend eternity in the Garden of Eden for all the things I’ve been habituated to and would surely miss, then, you ought to be grateful to Satan too. There lies the connotation of Bones’s pronouncement Satan gives color to the world! It was because of the devil’s seduction that the first man and woman fell from God’s perfect grace and landed in this world of opposites: love and hate, pleasure and pain, right and wrong, fame and shame, peace and war. 

and Eve’s fall was the birth of Humanism, Lindall elaborates. They were now on their own to create meaning out of this world where one life is food to another.   

 

Satan’s Peculiar Graces

The karmic spell the devil cast over the world jolted man to the reality of having to survive inside a lion’s den, so to speak (Prophet Daniel did, literally). Interestingly, man experienced inspiration at his successes over challenges and became adept at the arts and letters, creating beautiful figures and pictures and writing stories of his life exploits in relation to the universe around him. Man’s fall placed him in a position to aspire something better. From a philosophical perspective, man is a beneficiary of the devil’s peculiar graces, a felix culpa (fortunate fall) Lindall explains.

Certainly, Satan has an important role to play in the drama of God’s creation, without which purpose would not be achieved as Christ would not have been crucified and resurrected without the betrayal by Judas. The irony with man is he gives in to and enjoys Satan’s seductions but makes the devil the ugliest, most fearful, and vilest of all creatures. Lindall’s portrayal as monsters out of Humanism’s labors and of men as caught in horrible but humorous scenario is justified.

 

Further, Lindall declares that if Christians must celebrate Christmas, their expression of gratitude to the Saviour should include Satan. This one is hard to digest for mediocre minds that has been boxed in for millennia by a cultural practice that in the first place was inherited from pagans.

Satan, always, is projected by the church as someone to be feared and despised. Thus, programming humankind with binary thinking. The choice is either God or the devil, either/or. Through time, the binary choice transformed into my belief system or yours? Humankind understandably fell for the devil, otherwise, society and the world would not be in such mess. Yet human subconsciousness, despite all the technological and systems development, stagnate in the Dark Ages.

 

The advantage of appreciating Lindall’s gratitude for Satan’s peculiar graces is that those who understand would be able to transcend the binary program thinking and level up one’s understanding of God’s all-pervasive order of love: Ordo Amoris. It is a huge step up should you develop compassion for Judas, being mandated with a difficult task to perform, and understand deeper the role of the devil. Love your enemy, a Christian dictum that feels like stone to be eaten (The Stone Eater p. 152). Once that is achieved, fear dissipates.   

 

Lindall loves the classics but dismayed by what has become of humanism particularly in the postmodern period. While he recognizes the postmodernist reaction to flagrant art commodification as valid, he rejects the treatment of cultural relativism with absolute value. Contradiction in terms, that’s what it is. Instead, he croons for the “elitists” in the arts—the very few who has “the judgment to know what is worthwhile in human achievement,” his own words.

 

Despite all his subversive pronouncements about humanism, Lindall still holds faith in the human, saying a new and greater Man (and woman) will emerge from Art’s ashes. But before that, an event or two is yet to happen. All things considered, the end of Lindall’s philosophical argumentation is the door he opened but had not fully entered. A sign hangs at the door it says Ordo Amoris.

= End =